Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

lone wolf cover scanned 500 x 750What is your story?

It’s not just my story, it’s the story of the galaxy. I just happen to be in it.

Who are you?

I am Emmelia Spenser, Chairman of the Mining Guild Board of Directors.

Where do you live?

I live in the penthouse of the Mining Guild Tower on Aolani. I have other homes scattered about, but I’m most secure here.

Are you the hero of your own story?

I’m not the hero of anything. In fact, most people would probably consider me rather villainous.

Care to explain that last answer?

As Chairman of the Board, I must make the tough decisions. You don’t win many friends that way. In fact, there are probably dozens of people trying to kill me and thousands who want me dead.

What is your problem in the story?

John Riley is a thorn in my side and the collective side of the Board. He’s a rotten, sneaky, rat-faced bastard of a man. He’s caused nothing but trouble.

Do you have a problem the wasn’t mentioned in the story?

I’m very lonely and I want love. My father was a cold, heartless man. I never knew my mother. She had the sense to leave after I was born.

Do you embrace conflict?

Conflict seems to embrace me. By the very nature of my job, I am in a constant state of conflict and turmoil. Do I embrace it? No. I hire skilled people to deal with it for me.

Do you run from conflict?

Never! But I won’t let it get me either.

How do you see yourself?

I am cold hearted, cool headed, hard as nails, soft as silk, I am a conundrum, a paradox. I have been described as exotic, classic, Aquiline, and statuesque. That makes me sound like an island, a book, a bird and a hunk of rock! I’m a lady, pure and simple, high maintenance, feminine and capable of taking out any competition with a single call.

Who would you call?

Why, Wil VanLipsig of course. That man can take care of anything.

How do your friends see you?

I don’t really have many friends. Ssylvenia is the closest friend I have. Sometimes I’m sure she thinks I’m horrible.

Why would she think that?

Like I said, I make the tough decisions. She doesn’t always agree with me. She makes her displeasure known with a sharp sniff and a chitter. Ever been scolded by a giant praying mantis?

How do your enemies see you?

They don’t call me the Dragon Lady for nothing. Oh, yes. I know about that. I’ve been called worse. Who cares what the bastards call me as long as they leave me alone? And if they don’t, I call Wil.

How does the author see you?

Amazingly, she admires me. She sees me as a woman caught in circumstances not of her making. My father was murdered when I was 25, I inherited the job as Chairman when he died. My life has never been my own. Dellani sees me as someone who’s been trapped in a life she hates. And I hate myself sometimes too.

Do you think the author portrayed you accurately?

Yes, she has. She sees the hard exterior and the softness inside, just like Ben does.

What do you think of yourself?

I’m really a lonely, unloved child inside. My father was cold, harsh, uncaring. He never expressed any love of me, although I, in my youth, said I loved him often. Now I wonder if I ever did.

Do you have a hero?

Besides Wil? Ben, of course.

Who is Ben? How is he special to you?

Ben is a friend of Wil’s. Wil asked him to look after me because he was afraid Riley would try to have me killed. Ben has become the most special of friends. More than that, I shall not say.

Do you have a goal?

My goal is to see John Riley brought to justice.

What are your achievements?

Look at the wall in my office. I’m sure the awards there will tell you all you need to know about Chairman Spenser. As to Emmelia on a personal level, very little.

Do you talk about your achievements?

My achievements are a matter of public record. Why should I? It’s not like I’ve ever done anything really important.

Do you have any special strengths?

I am an excellent judge of character. Wil has shown me how to filter truth from lies. I see the world more clearly now.

Do you have any special weaknesses?

I don’t want to see the reality of the world, but I must, in order to stay alive.

Do you have money troubles?

Me? I’m among the richest, most powerful women in the galaxy. The top three richest and most important people in the galaxy: Chairman Aisulov of the Galactic Committee, Chairman Shimmelfenig of the Navigation Guild and me. Not necessarily in that order, however.

What do you want?Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00022]

I want John Riley dead.

What do you need?

I need Ben to love me.

What do you want to be?

I am what I am. There is no changing me. I would like to be a wife and mother, but that will never happen in this lifetime.

What do you believe?

I believe in the strength of Wil’s arm, the knowledge in my head, and the innate dishonesty of everyone.

What do you regret?

That I never got to know my mother. I don’t even know her name. My father never spoke of her and any records were purged. Her name isn’t even on my birth certificate.

What is your biggest disappointment?

I regret that I never got to live life my way.

What, if anything, haunts you?

The knowledge that my Uncle Ambrose wants me dead. Wil has offered many times to take him down, but I’ve resisted. I hope that decision doesn’t come back to haunt me one day.

Are you lucky?

I must be. I’ve been Chairman twenty-five years, I’m fifty years old and I’m still alive.

Have you ever failed at anything?

Only at relationships.

Has anyone ever failed you?

Constantly.

Has anyone ever betrayed you?

My uncle.

Do you keep your promises?

It depends on what breaking it will do for me.

Are you honorable?

Within the limitations of the contract.

What was your childhood like?

Mirthless, loveless, cold, sad, stressful.

Do you like remembering your childhood?

No, there is nothing good in my childhood that is worth remembering.

What in your past had the most profound effect on you?

Losing my father and never knowing my mother. My father was cold and unemotional, but he was still my father. I think he loved me, but I’ve never been sure. He spent any time with me, grooming me for his job. I never really had a childhood, only training.

What in your past would you like to forget?

Starting with yesterday, most of it.

Who was your first love?

There was a boy when I was a teenager. His name was Wayne Tarvo and he was the son of the stableboy. My father found out we were secretly seeing one another and sent me away. What the old bastard didn’t know was that Wayne and I had already been lovers for nearly a year. Being in his arms was the only time I was really happy.

Have you ever had an adventure?

Most certainly! When my father was murdered, Wil saved me by kidnapping me and spiriting me away to a desert world far off in the galaxy. We saved our own lives, helped Lena, brought Murdock back to life and watched as Valkyrie’s daughter was born. She’s my goddaughter, you know.

What is the most important thing that ever happened to you? Why?

Meeting Wil. I would have been killed right after my father died. Or I would never have met Ben. Wil has done more for me than anyone else, but I don’t even think he likes me that much.

Was there a major turning point in your life?

My father’s death. I became who I am today.

Was there ever a defining moment of your life?

Watching as the guards on Committee Home Base led away the conspirators who had my father killed.

What is your most closely guarded secret?

I don’t tell secrets. That’s one reason that I’ve stayed alive so long.

What is your most prized possession? Why?

My most prized possession? I don’t really have one.

Do you have any hobbies?

I don’t have time for hobbies.

What is your favorite scent? Why?

Whatever cologne Ben wears. Because Ben wears it.

What is your favorite color? Why?

The color of the sea outside my windows, because it seems so free and limitless.

What is your favorite food? Why?

I don’t have a favorite food. I like just about everything though.

What is your favorite beverage? Why?

My favorite beverage is Dracos Ale because that’s the first thing Ben and I drank together.

What is your favorite music? Why?

I am very fond of Vandaran Meditation Music. It’s relaxing and eases the stress in me.

What is your favorite item of clothing? Why?

I have a black dress that’s cut up to here and down to there, Ben loves it. I wore it for our first date. I had to send it to the cleaner to have his drool removed from the fabric. I would say that is my favorite dress.

Name five items in your purse, briefcase, or pockets.

Dear God, who carries a purse? I don’t carry much, if anything. A communication device is always handy. I have a tracking implant in case I’m kidnapped, that was Wil’s idea. There’s not much I need to carry with me, really. I have assistants that follow me around. They have everything I might need.

What are the last three books you read?

I mostly read Guild documents. I can’t remember the last book I read for pleasure. I was probably a child.

If you had the power to change one thing in the world that didn’t affect you personally, what would it be?

Everything affects me personally. As the Chairman of the Mining Guild Board, my decisions affect me as well as others. If I change anything, chances are good I’ll go out of business.

If you were stranded on a desert island, would you rather be stranded with, a man or a woman?

That’s easy. I’d like to be stranded with Wil so I can see if he’s really as luscious as he likes to think he is. Then I’d like to be stranded with Ben so he could wipe Wil completely from my mind.

How do you envision your future?

I envision the future of me and Ben together.

© 2014 Dellani Oakes

To Buy Lone Wolf

