Tags

, , , , ,

ShardanaJase isn’t very happy to find out that Althea and her boss, Lawson, are able to watch everything he does inside the dome. Everything.

“That’s enough, isn’t it? My ass flashing the camera….” And more, but he didn’t want to go there. At least she saw what she was missing all this time. “Then you’ve seen how she gets. The rages get more pronounced and the frequency has increased. I don’t know how long I can keep her happy. She could kill me with a thought, Thea. I really need to get out of here. We’ve learned what we can about Shardana. We can continue to monitor remotely. Having me here won’t add to our data by much.”

“We discovered something,” she muttered, looking away again as if the entire idea disturbed her.

“Am I going to want to hear this?”

“Probably not.”

“What? Just spit it out. Can’t be any worse than the idea of having my head ripped off and eaten.”

“Further data indicates that it is possible for a human male to….”

Jase paled. He didn’t think his day could get any worse, but it just had. “To what, Thea? Get some incurable disease? Run a marathon barefoot? Have his penis rot off? What?”

“Impregnate Shardana.”

“Fuck….” he whispered. He got himself a couple of beers from the refrigerator, drinking them both rapidly. “You just raised the bar on that one. Now I really could get myself killed. Thea, you know what she does when she…mates.”

Althea nodded, eyes wide with horror. She’d seen Shardana mate shortly after coming to the dome a few years ago. Once the act was complete, Shardana ripped off his head and ate him. When the child was born, the women of the tribe took it and raised it. Shardana could not be trusted with her own young. If an Icthyuman was at risk, what about a child that was half human? The tribe couldn’t raise it, nor could it live a normal life in the outside world.

“These folks never heard of condoms and birth control, Thea. What am I going to do?”

“I’ve presented the data to Lawson, asking that you be removed.”

“And?”

She swallowed, shaking her head.

© 2015 Dellani Oakes

 

To Buy Dellani’s Books

