Dellani Oakes

the-man-who-wasnt-thereBrian wakes from a deep, dreamless sleep to find Jordan there. They head downstairs for breakfast with his parents and baby sister. Jordan is delighted that Elise says her name for the first time.

“Oh, thank you for feeding my bacon craving!” Jordan took a piece in each hand, alternating bites. “I don’t know how my mother doesn’t think bacon is a slice of heaven. Yum!”

“I gather that once you and Brian are married, you won’t be keeping the vegetarian tradition?”

“With his hulk? He’d rebel and start eating the vertical blinds.”

“Only if they’re made of bacon,” Brian replied, stuffing a biscuit in his mouth.

“I know Mom thinks it clears the brain and keeps her more spiritual, but I can’t deny my carnivorous moments. She made the switch when I was ten. I don’t know what brought it on, she never told me. It wasn’t an easy…

View original post 802 more words

